The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)
has awarded the Center for Human Services the highest level of accreditation continually since 1986.


In 1955, the Crippled Children’s Center was founded as a cooperative service model by a group of innovative community members. The Center began with one teacher and 9 children and has grown to be the Center for Human Services today, serving over 2000 children and adults with disabilities and their families in over 30 counties in Central Missouri. The Center for Human Services is an umbrella title which includes six (6) Corporations and four distinct program areas: Family and Child Development, Employment Services, Community Living, and Service Coordination.

Click here to see Center Director/CEO Ann Graff and many others describe the programs and services offered at the Center.

Children’s Services

During the early 1950’s, local citizens, mirroring national trends, saw the need to provide services closer to home for children with disabilities. At that time, parents were advised to place children with disabilities in institutions or send them to schools in larger cities. So, in 1955, the Crippled Children’s Center was established through funds provided by:

United Cerebral Palsy
March of Dimes
Easter Seals
the Community

That year, nine children received services from one teacher in a former nurses quarters. In 1963, the name was changed to the Children’s Therapy Center. Ten years later, the center moved to its own facility. In the fall of 2008, children’s services moved to a new facility in the Thompson Meadows Industrial Park.

Go to the Early Head Start & First Steps pages for information on the state of the art children’s programs that CHS now provides.

Employment Services

The Center has grown and adapted over time as the needs of the people that it served have changed. By the mid 1960’s, some individuals who were receiving services were finishing their formal education and needing employment. At the time, it was generally believed that individuals with disabilities were incapable of working. In 1966, the Center’s leaders, working with local business, chartered Missouri’s first sheltered workshop, where employees work at their own pace and are paid according to their productivity.

The workshop’s first facility was the old building in east Sedalia shown here. In 1988, the workshop moved to the Ewing Vocational Center in the Sedalia Industrial Park .

In 1972, a second facility was opened in Marshall, Missouri, to serve residents of Saline County.

Today, the Center for Human Services is a Full Service Employment Center. Individuals with Disabilities have the choice to work in various settings, including Job Preparation, Facility Based Employment, Job Exploration, Crews in Industry or in the Community, Supported Employment, and Competitive Employment.

Go to the Employment Services page for details on the programs and services that the Center for Human Services provides.

Community Living

In 1979, responding to the need for affordable and safe housing for adults with disabilities, the Community Living program was added. The first group home, Tower Farm, (pictured left) was home to seven (7) adults with disabilities.

Today, a variety of residential options and support services are available in Pettis, Saline and Moniteau Counties. Residential options include: Activity Centers offering community and Center-based activities, Individualized Supported Living, HUD funded affordable housing with supports, Community housing with individualized supports, and group home settings with 24 hour supports.

Go to the Community Living page to learn more.

Service Coordination

In February 1996, as a pilot project in conjunction with the Department of Mental Health – Division of Developmental Disabilities, CHS began providing Targeted Case Management services in Pettis and Saline Counties to approximately 300 individuals with seven Service Coordinators.

Today, we are providing Targeted Case Management Services in seven counties, they include Benton, Clay, Dallas, Hickory, and  Polk counties and serve approximately 1500 individuals.

Go to Service Coordination page to learn more.